Skip to main content
New Brunswick Coalition of Persons with Disabilities

À noter: Le site francophone est en construction

Image is black and white logo of NBCPD, featuring the chain link circle in the middle and the name on both sides, in French and English

Découvrez ce qu'une seule voix peut accomplir.

Nous sommes un groupe de défense ici pour être votre voix et votre soutien lorsque vous sentez qu'il n'y a plus de combat en vous.

Bienvenue au CPHNB

Qui nous sommes et pourquoi nous sommes ici

La CPHNB a été fondée PAR et POUR des personnes handicapées, avec un conseil d'administration composé à 80 % de cette communauté. Née de la nécessité de défendre les intérêts de la population handicapée du Nouveau-Brunswick, notre organisation non partisane a émergé avec un objectif unique : réaliser un Nouveau-Brunswick inclusif où les personnes handicapées bénéficient d'un niveau de vie amélioré, d'un accès à une aide appropriée et d'une protection complète et équitable. participation à la société.

Cartoon figures protesting in front of the NB Legislature and hold up signs.

Fait

De nouveaux donnés publiés le 1er décembre, 2023 par Statistique Canada montre que la présence d'un handicap dans la province du Nouveau-Brunswick a augmenté de 8,6 %, ce qui en fait l'augmentation la plus importante au pays. La province se classe désormais au deuxième rang en matière de taux de population, avec un taux d'invalidité de 35,3 %., dépassé seulement par la Nouvelle-Écosse avec 37,9 %.
Plus d'information ici: Statistique Canada

Fait

Le 24 avril, 2022, lors d'un événement spécial Café-Causeries ("Coffee Chat") avec le CPHNB, le ministre Higgs a avoué qu'il ne savait pas comment les personnes handicapées survivaient avec le montant dont elles disposaient chaque mois.

Voir le clip ici (anglais seulement)

Fait

le ministre Higgs continue de choisir d’ignorer les besoins de plus d’un quart de la population – les personnes handicapées – dont la plupart vivent dans une pauvreté extrême, tandis que lui et son gouvernement se vantent d’un excédent et recommandent une augmentation des députés.

Pour une mise à jour sur les changements à venir en matière d’aide sociale, veuillez cliquer ici : Communiqué de presse - 21 novembre 2023 

Remarque : Il est important de mentionner que ces mesures sont mises en œuvre à titre de suppléments et non d'augmentations de tarifs réelles.

Vous pourriez survivre avec ce montant? Année après année?

Image is a map of Canada showing the amounts for provincial disability payments by province.

Alberta : le montant total de revenu d'aide sociale le plus élevé est destiné aux personnes seules seules handicapées qui sont admissibles au programme Alberta Assured Income for the Severely Handicapped (AISH) ; le montant le plus bas est destiné aux personnes seules handicapées qui sont admissibles au programme Barriers to Full Employment (BFE) de l’Alberta.

Qu’y a-t-il dans un logo ? 

Le logo CPHNB est composé de six maillons de chaîne, chacun d'eux représentant une catégorie de handicap comme suit : handicaps invisibles, troubles de santé mentale, handicaps physiques, troubles de la vision, troubles auditifs et troubles neurodivergents. Et pourquoi les maillons de la chaîne ressemblent-ils à des « bulles de conversation » ? Ils représentent le dialogue entre tous les types de handicaps et sont reliés dans un cercle comme un symbole de l’intersectionnalité et le fait que la plupart d’entre nous ne sont pas seulement touchés par un handicap, mais généralement par plusieurs. 

Image shows a logo made up of oval "speech bubble", linked together to form a circle. The links are dark red, dark blue and dark green. Around the circle are arrows pointing to each different bubble with the words Invisible Disabilities, Mental Health Disabilities, Physical Disabilities, Vision Disabilities, Hearing Disabilities and and Neurodivergent Disabilities

Les tendances à la CPHNB

Pour plus de sujets d’actualité, visitez notre blog ou consultez-nous sur Facebook dans le groupe Members and Friends de la CPHNB! group page!

 

  • Tout nouveau! Venez vous amuser! Jeux intéractif qui va vous permettre de gagner un prix! Mystère! Il pourrait y avoir un trésoir d'impliqué! À vous de découvrir! Revenez nous voir pour en savoir plus!
  • Du nouveau sur notre page, la section sondages. Rendez vous à la section "programmes" et ensuite, "sondages".
  • Nous sommes maintenant sur LinkedIn! Rendez vous nous voir ici!

“Go Barrier Free” Extended to August!

Coffee Chat logo, show a coffee cup with the website address and the word in both French and English COFFEE CHAT and CAFÉ-CAUSERIE

Cliquez ici pour plus de renseignements au sujet des prochaines café-causeries!

Nous vous encourageons à vivre votre meilleure vie.

Nos derniers articles de blog

Nouvelles

Découvrez ce que votre voix peut accomplir.

Nos Priorités

Justice sociale

Selon la définition du dictionnaire Oxford, la justice sociale est « l'objectif de créer une société juste et égalitaire dans laquelle chaque individu compte, ses droits sont reconnus et protégés et les décisions sont prises de manière juste et honnête ». Cela décrit parfaitement ce que la NBCPD veut voir pour les personnes handicapées au Nouveau-Brunswick. Pour être sur un pied d'égalité, les personnes handicapées ont parfois besoin d'un peu d'aide ; que ce soit avec un revenu pour ceux qui sont incapables de travailler en raison de leur handicap, une aide pour un transport ou un logement accessible, ou un financement pour obtenir l'équipement de réadaptation dont ils ont besoin pour mener une vie productive. Chaque personne compte. En tant que province, nous devons nous efforcer de ne laisser personne de côté.

Bien-être, santé mentale et loisirs

Dans un monde post Covid19, nous savons que la santé mentale de beaucoup sera fragile. Qu'il s'agisse de lutter contre une forme de SSPT causée par l'isolement de la pandémie, d'essayer de s'adapter à nouveau dans le monde ou d'accepter que pendant que d'autres sont de retour, ils font toujours face à leur propre isolement quotidien. Les personnes handicapées ont été durement touchées par la pandémie. Beaucoup dépendent de soins à domicile qui n'étaient tout simplement pas disponibles ou en nombre insuffisant. Beaucoup ne pouvaient pas se permettre la nourriture saine nécessaire pour être en forme de combat s'ils devaient contracter le virus. Une fois la pandémie derrière nous, nous voulons encourager ceux qui peuvent sortir en les tenant au courant de ce qui est disponible pour eux et accessible. S'ils ont besoin de rester un peu plus longtemps, nous serons là pour eux avec des activités virtuelles.

Sensibilisation

La sensibilisation au handicap est la clé qui ouvrira les portes. Qu'il s'agisse d'un meilleur niveau de vie financièrement, d'un meilleur accès aux services ou d'une chance égale de participer pleinement à la société, notamment en travaillant, en étudiant et en jouant sur un pied d'égalité avec les autres, tout commence par la connaissance et la compréhension. NBCPD représente tous les handicaps, visibles et invisibles et vous aidera à vous connecter aux bonnes ressources. Nos services comprennent :

  • Accès à une formation de sensibilisation au handicap
  • Travail en réseau avec d'autres agences
  • Enquêtes d'accessibilité
  • Compilation de données
  • Rencontres avec des représentants du gouvernement
Skip to content

Skip to main content
New Brunswick Coalition of Persons with Disabilities
Image is black and white logo of NBCPD, featuring the chain link circle in the middle and the name on both sides, in French and English

See What One Voice Can Do.

We are an advocacy group here to be your voice and to be your support when you feel there is no more fight left in you.

Welcome to the NBCPD

Who We Are and Why We're Here

NBCPD was founded BY and FOR individuals with disabilities, maintaining a board that is consistently comprised of 80% of this community. Born out of the necessity to advocate for the disabled population in New Brunswick, our non-partisan organization emerged with a singular objective: to realize an inclusive New Brunswick where individuals with disabilities enjoy improved living standards, access to appropriate assistance, and full and equitable participation in society.

Cartoon figures protesting in front of the NB Legislature and hold up signs.

Fact:

New data released on December 1, 2023 by Statistics Canada shows that the presense of disability in the province of NB has risen by 8.6%, making it the most significant increase in the the country. The province now sits as the second highest population rate at 35.3% disability, surpassed only by  Nova Scotia at 37.9%.
See more info here: 2022 Cencus

Fact:

On April 24, 2022, during a special event Coffee Chat with the NBCPD, Premier Higgs admitted he did not know how people with disabilities survived with the amount they have to live on monthly.

See the clip here

Fact:

Premier Higgs continues to choose to ignore the needs of over one-quarter of the population – people with disabilities – most of whom are living in extreme poverty, while he and his government brag of a surplus and recommends a raise for MLA’s.

For an update on upcoming changes to social assistance, please click here: November 21, 2023 Press Release. 

Note: It is significant to mention that these measures are being implemented as suppliments and not actual rate increases

Could YOU live on this amount? Year after Year?

Image shows a map of Canada outlining the different disability benefits amounts across the country. Emphasizes that New Brunswick is the lowest.

Alberta: The higher total welfare income amount is for the unattached single with a disability who is eligible for Alberta’s Assured Income for the Severely Handicapped (AISH)  program; the lower amount is for the unattached single with a disability who is eligible for Alberta’s Barriers to Full Employment (BFE) Program.

What’s In a Logo? 

The NBCPD logo is made up of six chain links, each of them representing a disability category as follows: Invisible Disabilities, Mental Health Disabilities, Physical Disabilities, Vision Disabilities, Hearing Disabilities and and Neurodivergent Disabilities. And why do the chain links look like “conversation bubbles”? They represent dialogue between all types of disabilities and are linked in a circle as a symbol of the intersectionality and how most of us are not just affected by one disability, but usually several. 

Image shows a logo made up of oval "speech bubble", linked together to form a circle. The links are dark red, dark blue and dark green. Around the circle are arrows pointing to each different bubble with the words Invisible Disabilities, Mental Health Disabilities, Physical Disabilities, Vision Disabilities, Hearing Disabilities and and Neurodivergent Disabilities

What's Trending At NBCPD

For more NBCPD Trending Topics Visit Our Blog or Check Us out on Facebook and join our popular Members & Friends of NBCPD group page!

  • Date for the  NBCPD Annual Bingo has been announced! March 24th is the day! Mark your calendars!
  • New, interactive contest coming to website soon! Keep checking here to find out what that will be all about! Does it sound mysterious? It should! It will be a treasure to be hold!
  • New Survey component added to webpage! Go to Programs — Survey
  • We are now on LinkedIn! Check us out here!

“Go Barrier Free” Extended to March 29th!

Coffee Chat logo, show a coffee cup with the website address and the word in both French and English COFFEE CHAT and CAFÉ-CAUSERIE

Click here for more information the next Weekly Coffee Chat.

We're inpiring and helping people with disabilities live better lives.

Our Latest Blog Posts

News & Updates

See What One Voice Can Do

Our Priorities

Social Justice

According to the Oxford Dictionary’s definition, social justice is “The objective of creating a fair and equal society in which each individual matters, their rights are recognized and protected, and decisions are made in ways that are fair and honest.” That describes perfectly what the NBCPD wants to see for people with disabilities in New Brunswick. To be on an equal playing field, those with disabilities sometimes require a bit of help; whether it be with income for those who are unable to work because of their disability, help with accessible transportation or housing, or funding to obtain the rehabilitative equipment they require to lead a productive life. Ever person matters. As a province, we must strive to leave nobody behind.

Wellness, mental health & recreation

In a post Covid19 world, we know that the mental health of many will be fragile. Whether it be struggling with some form of PTSD caused by the isolation of the pandemic, trying to adjust to being out in the world again, or accepting that while others are back out there, they are still coping with their own everyday normal of isolation. People with disabilities have been hit hard by the pandemic. Many rely on in-home care that was just not available or in short supply. Many could not afford the healthy food required to be in fighting form if they were to contract the virus. Once the pandemic is behind us, we want to encourage those who can go out by keeping them up-to-speed on what’s out there for them and accessible. If they need to stay in a little longer, we’ll be there for them with virtual activities.

Disability Awareness

Disability awareness is the key that will open doors. Whether it be to a better standard of living financially, better access to services or an equal chance to participate fully in society including working, studying and playing on an equal footing with others, it all starts with knowledge and understanding. NBCPD represents all disabilities, visible and invisible and will help you get connected to the right resources. Our services include:

  • Access to disability awareness training
  • Networking with other agencies
  • Accessibility Investigations
  • Data compilation
  • Meetings with government officials
Skip to content